10-Day Meditation Challenge: Find Your Seat for Meditation <br>Rosemary Garrison

10-Day Meditation Challenge: Find Your Seat for Meditation
Rosemary Garrison

Watch this Tutorial
Lauren M
1 person likes this.
Hi Rosemary, I'm new to meditation and just wondering why we can't lie on our back? Thanks, Lauren
Rosemary Garrison
It's an excellent question, Lauren. Thanks for asking. There is a simple answer and a more complicated answer. First the simple: when we lie down, we are more likely to fall asleep. As we begin to calm the mind, breathe deeply, close the eyes... the body naturally relaxes. From there, chances are you strong that you will drift off (even if you don't completely fall asleep). The more complicated answer is: part of what we are developing while meditating is a cultivation of energy and a subtle internal awareness. When we are seated, this energy can rise up the spine and our awareness is far more likely to be more vital, more awake- literally and metaphorically. Feel free to explore this on your own! See if you can stay awake and fully present while lying down... and how it feels different from sitting. And let me know- I am curious and open.
Lauren M
1 person likes this.
Thanks so much for the detailed answer. I will work on this and test what you say. I have really enjoyed your 5 mins for 5 days introduction :)
Rosemary Garrison
Wonderful! So happy to hear this. Do keep me posted... I love to hear how these practices develop over time.
Curtis Hamilton